Katia Kabanowa: see it!

 

Since the absurd and awful production of Lucia three years ago, I have avoided the Opera Narodowa. However, yesterday I was offered a free ticket to the opening of Katia Kabanowa. I took it and I am glad I did.

This KK is well worth seeing. David Alden`s new Warsaw production from London`s ENO is about the best performance of any opera I have seen from this inconsistent company.

Of course, there are all the usual Alden props: the moving chairs, the moving wall, the street lamp, but they are intelligently and, except for the frenzied smoking at the beginning, unobtrusively used.

The drama in the text is allowed to speak with clarity, a great relief from the usual Trelinski clutter and confusion. After a shakey start, the orchestra maintained a high level of playing, though I should have liked a little more passion. However, the balance between the stage and the pit was never compromised.

Whilst a couple of the singers could do with some more acting lessons and the Mother has an unpleasant voice (though she is an unpleasant character), the standard of singing is even and high. The whole cast gave focussed and committed performances. A memorable evening. Go!

2 thoughts on “Katia Kabanowa: see it!

Leave a comment